[June in Japan] Day 5 in Tokyo (second day subway-ing)

Writing these blog posts made me realised that it’s a brilliant thing I take so many photos. Or else I wouldn’t remember much about what I did on each day, unless there was a highlight to it like visiting an amusement park. As I was choosing the photos for today’s entry, I also realised that there was a gap for about a couple of hours during this day that I’m not sure what we did, lol. We’ll talk more about that when the entry reaches that point.

Anyway, back to our travelling blog post!

If this is the first time you’ve just stumbled across my blog, welcome! Here is the first part of this amazing adventure in Japan last June (2016): [June in Japan] Day 1 in Kyoto

Previously, on our adventure: [June in Japan] Day 4 in Tokyo (first day subway-ing) Part 2

So we are still in Tokyo! It probably is my favourite city in this world… It’s the fifth day of our trip and we are also still subway-ing around Tokyo because we got a lovely 48-hour subway pass.

But first! Breakfast!

0.1

From Yoshinoya near our flat.

A pork-bowl with lots of negi (Japanese leek) and a raw egg yolk topping with a small bowl of miso soup.

0.2

While on the subway…

Also tea to get me through the day. Here is my favourite royal milk tea found in the Japanese convenient store. I don’t think every convenient store has this brand though, Family Mart does stock them but not 7-11 I think…

And I will stop here tonight. The battery of the laptop is dying and my eyes are drooping. Will hopefully come back to this soon!

 

And then I left this entry for over a month before I can manage to come back to it ^^” I’ve left it for so long that I didn’t remember starting this entry or how much I’ve written it until I saw the entry in my draft section yesterday ^^”

So here I am, coming back to continue by adding all of the photos first, since that seems to be a way to get me to finish an entry. Plus, now I can just keep typing and not have to fiddle with adding images.

Let’s continue with our day!

As you could probably guessed, we made full use of the subway because we had the subway pass and so went to Ginza. There’s a cafe there I had been wanting to try, since Henri Charpentier is one of my favourite dessert shops in Japan

Welcome, to Ginza Maison, Henri Charpentier.

I was a little bit disappointed in the menu selection. There wasn’t anything that sprang out to grab my attention and I’m comparing the experience with their normal dessert line in department store kiosks, which usually leaves me torn with which one to choose.

In the end, I decided to go for a seasonal crepe dish with lime ice and zest, mango sauce and coconut crunch.

1

I have to say, I was impressed with it. But then again, I probably wasn’t expecting much because this isn’t really my normal go-to dessert, lol. The lime ice was fantastic though and it went very well with the mango sauce and the crepes. The lime zest was a great touch too. I don’t think I was that impressed with the coconut crunch, but then I’m not that fond of them in the first place anyway.

2

I, of course, also got a pot of tea. I was suffering from period cramps (it being the first day and all), hence the hot beverage. It was also probably why we didn’t do too many things on that day. I don’t think I could have coped with a lot of walking in my state.

(I am fortunate enough that I don’t suffer from sever period pains. It’s just annoying and makes me not want to do anything but to lie down, especially on the first day.)

Anyway, here are two photos of the interior inside the shop.

3

Love how it spells ‘Celebration’. Woo!

4

And here’s the entrance to the female toilet! How anyone could have found it without asking is a mystery. I asked or else I wouldn’t know.

 

And then I left this entry for, goodness knows how long ^^” Anyway, let’s see if I can finish this entry today.

After finishing with our lunch(?) at Ginza Maison, Henri Charpentier, we went to a building that hosts a stationary store as lune was looking for something for her cousin. I browsed around but didn’t have the budget to splurge, lol.

After that… we must have gone to Shibuya! xD I don’t remember this bit but the pictures are telling me this fact, lol.

5

Here’s a picture of the famous Shibuya crossing!

I think we went to Shibuya to go buy our tickets to Tokyo Disney Resort at the Disney Store there.

After we’ve finished in Shibuya, we then went on to Shinjuku… Here’s the point where there are a few hours gap where I’m not sure where it went. I think may be we went exploring in Shibuya to look for Animate just to look at anime/manga products. We definitely did that but I’m just not sure which day that was xD

6

That sign on top of this building has been there since April 2011, so I make it a point to snap a photo every time. 

Anyway, we went to Shinjuku to get some dinner and I managed to drag lune to have my favourite Japanese dish: tonkatsu (or the pork cutlet).

There is a restaurant I wanted to try out at Takashimaya Department Store hence why we ended up in Shinjuku.

7

One of my favourite part of Tokyo. 

The restaurant is called Katsukura, on the 14th floor. This was the first time I’ve tried out this place, and I was excited! I think we had to queue for a bit but it didn’t take that long.

8

The bowl for the sauce. The toasted sesame can be crushed in this bowl and then the sauce added.

9

This was the set I got where there was a piece of pork cutlet and this vegetable, wrapped in tofu skin then covered in bread crumb and deep fried like the pork cutlet.

The pork was amazing, I was totally hooked and Katsukura definitely made it on the list of restaurants I must visit in Tokyo. 😉

So in the end, it was a pretty chill day. Here’s a summary of how much walking we did today:

10

Considering that we didn’t really have a plan and that I wasn’t feeling my 100%, it’s still impressive that we managed to hit 12km of walking!

Also, here are some of the goodies I’ve bought during the trip so far. They are mostly snacks xD

11

These are some fruit jellies I bought back for my little sister. She wanted a mix of flavours so I got all that were available for her. 

12

This is a ‘takoyaki‘ flavoured potato chips that I loved. I tried them the last time I went to Osaka (April 2015) and made it a mission to buy it again this time around xD 

13

They are kind of like croutons but triangular shaped in 53% brie cheese flavour. 

And last, but not least:

14

Ritz snacks with cheese fillings. So good.

 

So here you go, finally, this entry is finally done. I wonder how many months it has been ^^” Well, it’s actually a year and a month since this trip so I really should get going with the entry….

 

Anyway, I’m going to sign off here. Hope you are having a lovely weekend!

 

With love,

From BKK

 

 

Leave a Reply

