April update, films wise.

And it has been a while, hasn’t it? xD I also just found out today that I can access WordPress freely in GZ. Huh, didn’t realise that before…

I was about to give up posting a blog entry today but it looks like I haven’t got any excuse anymore ^^”

Today’s blog is all about films I have seen recently though. I pretty much hit the cinema to see practically a film each week.

A warning, this entry will contain spoilers because I don’t think I can rant about these films without going into the details.

Anyway, it started with Logan.

Logan

I didn’t plan to go see it until it came out to raving reviews. Even then, I thought may be I’ll see it on a plane when I get a chance or something. And then a Friday night (10 March) freed up so I thought, why not go see a film?

It was a choice between Logan and The Lego Movie: Batman. I’ve never really seen any of the other X-Men films, not even on TV. Well, not all of the movie in one sitting anyway. So really, why go see Logan? And I did enjoy the first Lego Movie so may be I should go see that.

But the reviews were so good, I thought I should give it a go. And boy I wasn’t disappointed. I was already dabbling in the X-Men fandom (I have a weakness for Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr) and so I found myself being emotionally invested in these characters. The tears came when Charles died and I don’t think it stopped. The tears kept coming and I started to sniffle and really, by the end of the film, I was a mess.

My eyes were swollen and my nose, red by the time we came out of the cinema. It was one of the best experiences, even if it was heartbreaking, I’ve ever had watching a film.

 

The week after, though, was a much anticipated and awaited film for me: Beauty and the Beast live action.

428879095821241773

Oh my goodness. It. Was. Amazing. Fantastic. Breathtakingly beautiful.

It was everything I hope a Disney film would be. It was visually stunning, I love the costumes and the sets. Emma Watson was born to play the role Belle. I can’t get enough of Luke Evans and Josh Gad as Gaston and LeFou. The casting was perfect.

Sir Ian McKellen as Cogsworth. Emma Thompson as Mrs Potts. Ewan McGregor as Lumière. Stanley Tucci as Maestro Cadenza. Audra McDonald as Madame de Garderobe. Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Plumette. Kevin Kline as Maurice.

Absolutely perfection.

The songs. Oh, don’t let me get started on the songs. From Belle, to Be Our Guest to the famous Beauty and the Beast. I sang my heart out in the cinema. Or, well, as loudly as I think I could get away with in public. Although, I would say that I prefer the original version from the 1991 animation, I still enjoyed it nonetheless in this film.

The one song I prefer the Live Action’s version to the animation is Gaston. I didn’t remember the song Gaston at all from the 1991 animation but I absolutely LOVE it in this film. Easily my favourite song from this soundtrack.

The new songs didn’t really made that much of an impression on me. Though How Does a Moment Last Forever really grew on me after seeing the film the second time and now I love it as much as the other songs mentioned earlier. Evermore, not so much. I still found it too overly dramatic for my taste.

Ah, I didn’t mention anything at all about the Beast, did I? Well, aesthetically, I prefer the Beast from the animation. May be it’s because I’m more used to the Beast looking like that. The CGI didn’t bother me that much since how else were they going to make the Beast? So considering the difficulties of the task, I was completely fine with how it turned out. I just feel indifference to how he looked.

Dan Stevens though, oh Dan Stevens is a completely different story. I do much prefer him with short hair but he was a fantastic casting choice too. I have such a great time watching his various interviews to promote this film.

I, sadly, missed the first five minutes or so of this film during our first viewing, we were late. However, I did get to see it a second time in Bangkok when I went home for the Tomb Sweeping holiday so it appeased my appetite for this film 😉

WeChat Image_20170412200831

Mind you, I still contemplating looking up if the film is still available around here or not because I wouldn’t mind going to see it again… I just love this film that much. And I got to see it in 3D when I saw it the first time around, and 2D for the second time.

 

Anyway, the last film I saw was Kong: Skull Island.

WeChat Image_20170412200759

I didn’t think that the film would be released in China because I saw no promotion for it until the day I went to see Logan and saw its trailer being shown in the waiting area of the cinema. I quickly remember what the released date in China was and made plans accordingly xD

I have a thing for monster films (love Pacific Rim and do enjoy watching Godzilla), so I know that this will be up my alley. And it got Tom Hiddleston. I was sold. xD

And Tom did not disappoint! He was in his own, British, accent glory and his pec. His pectorals. And it was very classy of Tom because he was still wearing a shirt for the whole film (I think). But it was a very skin-fit shirt. I can pretty much see the outlines of his muscles. It was glorious. And that facial hair in the his first scene. *dead*

There was Samuel L. Jackson and I really like John C. Reilly’s role in this film. So yeah, I will be keeping an eye on this franchise!

 

Recap:

10 March – Logan

17 March: Beauty and the Beast

25 March: Kong: Skull Island

2 April: Beauty and the Beast

I don’t think I’ve ever hit the cinema this often in my life before! xDDD

 

I’ve also seen Moana on the plane back to Thailand and Jackie on my way back to GZ. It’s been a pretty film-packed month or so!!

And on that note, I’ll sign off here. Didn’t sleep much last night or the night before so I really should be having an early night tonight.

Hope your week is going well!

 

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – Crosswalk Musical Beauty and the Beast is an absolute gem. I’ve seen that clip so many times on Youtube that I can pretty much recite most of the dialogues. So freaking funny!! James Corden is blimming amazing. ❤

Leave a Reply

