[June in Japan] Day 4 in Tokyo (first day subway-ing) Part 2

(I’ve never managed to finish this post on Saturday. Or Sunday. Or Monday. Or Tuesday. xD I’m hoping I can finish it today.)

Oh… New setting/format…? To the post page anyway… Not sure if I like this… But probably because I’m not used to it yet. Hmm…

I’m procrastinating from work. And I got cramps so the plan of going out to the coffee shop to do work is now in limbo. I will try to get some work done at some point today but the prospect is as grim as the weather outside today. (Which is pretty gloomy because it’s very foggy. Really, really foggy.)

Anyway, here’s the link to my previous post: Day 4 in Tokyo (first day subway-ing) Part 1 (WordPress makes it so convenient with the hyperlink!)

Now let’s see where I ended the post… Oh yes! The fig tart from Qu’il fait bon. (Now that I think about it, I think I bought the tart first, then saw the Tokyo Banana shop and bought the strawberry cake from Ginza after… but sat and ate them at the same time xD)

Lune and I found a small area with tables and chairs where people can just buy food from the shops around and sit and eat. So that was what we did with the tart.

Oh! I forgot another thing we got! From the Tokyo Banana shop, they were selling these. I think it says ‘Gin-no-budou Strawberry Milk Cake’.

5.5

I believe it was a light sponge cake on the outside, and then fresh cream and some strawberry jam/puree on the inside…? It was quite nice and big but I prefer the other strawberry cake more. Though because this one got fresh cream, it can’t be kept for long. I think lune and I shared this one?

Anyway, we walked around the mall and then decided that we’d skip lunch and go straight to dessert.

Yes, even though I had a fig tart and strawberry milk cake, I still don’t think I’m full enough. xD There was actually a chocolate place lune wanted to visit so we walked around trying to find the place. Almost couldn’t find it…

8

The Tanabata decorations around…

Apparently Max Brenner Chocolate Bar is well known. (I’ve actually made this spreadsheet where I typed out places I would like to visit around Tokyo, sorted by locations and colour-coded with what type of place is it. We ended going to the same places but it’s still nice having that spreadsheet ;D)

The location to this particular Max Brenner is here. We almost couldn’t find it because we actually had to get out of the building and walked around a bend to see the place.

9

Chocolate lava cake with a scope of vanilla ice-cream. Oh! Found a menu! So the menu we got was called Melting Chocolate Heart Cake and Shake. I also got myself a cup of Earl Grey because I was in need of tea and that was the only blend of hot tea they served there.

10

Chocolate is GOOD for you!

Such great decor 😉

We sat there for quite a while, just chilling and chatting with great chocolate dessert and tea for me.

However, there were still a few more places we would like to hit with the subway-pass so we gradually got a move on.

Our next destination was pretty close by as well so it didn’t take long at all on the subway. And it’s really popular among tourists.

11

The classic red lantern in front of Sensoji Temple.

I actually can’t remember now how many times I have been to, possibly, the most popular temples in Tokyo. I definitely visited when I first went to Tokyo back in 2011 and then have taken numerous people to the place.

Asakusa was teeming with people as usual and then the rain started. ^^” Lune actually had to get some stuff from there for her family so we walked through (what I have just found out is called) Nakamise, looking at all of the stalls before coming to the main hall.

12

The main hall of the Sensoji Temple.

As you can see, the umbrellas were out now…

I don’t think lune found what she was looking for but she wasn’t too worried so we went on to our next destination.

This time, it took quite a bit of time to get across Tokyo back to Harajuku again. Nestled in the middle of the buzzing city lies a huge area of so much peace that it has quickly become on of my favourite spots in Tokyo since the first time I’ve stepped inside it.

The Meiji Shrine is like a gem in Tokyo to me. The first time I’ve visited this well known shrine was, I believe, at the end of 2013. I was there with my family over Christmas and New Year so we had a lot of time to spare. I ended up wandering inside Meiji Shrine because I was looking for things to do. Imagine my surprise when I found out that what I thought was just another temple turned out to be one of the greenest, most peaceful place in Tokyo. That contrast was so jarring but it makes me love this place even more.

It was no different this time. As soon as you step through the huge wooden gate, it felt like I’ve stepped into another world.

(And this is as far as I’ve made it on Saturday. Let’s continue!)

13

The main hall of Meiji Shrine.

It was even more quiet this time around because it’s been raining quite heavily for an hour or so. However, we weren’t the only one there either! I really like the atmosphere inside the Meiji Shrine, even in the rain. The rain actually made it refreshing yet peaceful.

14

Every time I visit, I always pay 100 yen to get one of these poems. I believe they were written by the Emperor and I have been keeping one in my wallet ever since. This was the poem I got from this trip and I felt like the message was what I needed at the time.

15

I also couldn’t help taking this photo because I’ve just never seen anything like this anywhere else. Of course you show the visitors what the gate would normally look like when it’s not undergoing reconstruction. xD It’s very considerate of them though, so that visitors who might never have a chance to visit the Shrine again will know what the gate normally look like.

After the peaceful time in Meiji Shrine, lune and I ventured out again to the bustling Tokyo for one last place to visit for the day.

Why were we there, you ask?

17

For these gorgeous goodies. XDDD Yeap, we went there to line up for these Arashi‘s Waku Waku goodies. Oh! And I’ve forgotten! We actually went the day before too but they weren’t selling then because there was a baseball match!

Now we thought that if we go in the evening, surely the line would be short by then. And this was like, around 7pm already and I think the ‘shop’ was only opened till 8pm. But nope. Still a pretty long line! Lune and I had to separate to line up in different queues for different things!

But I was so happy with what we’ve gotten. Oh! The concert goodies (Japonism Arena Tour) were on sale then as well, that was why we had separate queues.

After a pretty packed day, we headed back to our AirBnB flat.

18

Saw this in a convenient store and of course I had to buy and try it because of the presenter! xD

19

It was very lemon-y. Though, I actually prefer the grape one more.

And that was it for our fourth day!

20

As you can see, we still walked over 10 km though we did start quite late into the day xD.

We also continued to have a very chill, very relaxing weekend in Tokyo too. Hopefully I will get to the next entry very soon! But I’m yawning right now and it’s not even 8pm yet, lol. It’s been an exhausting week so far and may be it’s time to get some extra sleep.

Hope your week is going better than mine!

 

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – I forgot to mention the new toy I bought that day!

21

It’s one of those clip-on lens for your phone camera. I was actually talking about this with lune before because she has one. And then we actually found it in LOFT at Tokyo Skytree Town. And it was around 500 yen AND it’s in pink! Of course I had to buy it and try it out!

22

Top row: normal phone camera on the left and one with the wide lens on the right. Bottom row: normal phone camera on the left and with the macro lens on the right.

It came with two types of lens and I really should remember to bring it with me more. It’s fantastic to take on trips.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

