[30 Day Writing Challenge] Day 27

As always, here is the list of all of the 30 day challenge I am doing at the moment.

Here is my attempt for today’s prompt.

—–

It was a sunny day, perfect to spend in a water park. I was very excited because I’d never been to a water park outside of Thailand before.

There were slides that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go on yet but I think I should give it a go. The current ‘pool’ looked great as well. You could just float around without having to swim.

I did end up going on the water slides. It was super scary in the beginning but after I got over my fear, sliding down was a lot of fun.

I always panicked a little when I didn’t have all of the control. However, at the same time, I liked the thrill of coming down a slope. So to me, a big slide was a bit of a conflicted feeling. On one hand, I was scared about it. On another hand, I couldn’t wait to feel the wind in my hair and the swoop in my stomach.

There were many other people my age on this trip too and we had fun together. However, I still ended up in the current ‘pool’ alone. I wanted to explore the water park and this ‘pool’ went all the way around it. There were many places where the slides ended up in this ‘pool’ too.

I was swimming along just fine, until I reached one joining point.

One minute I was above the surface, doing just fine. And then somehow, I got swept under.

The sound quietened under water and I could hear the rushing of my own blood through my ears. I could see underwater and I knew that I only had to kick my legs to the surface.

But somehow, the current kept sweeping me under. For a moment, I was sure that this was it. I would struggle but I wouldn’t be able to get to the surface. And I would drown.

It was strange how quiet it was. The panic was there but so was an odd sense of calm.

And then I somehow made it to the surface. The crazy thing was, I could probably stand in that ‘pool’. It wasn’t deep at all. And the current wasn’t too strong that I couldn’t stay in one place. Also, it wasn’t like I couldn’t swim or was a weak swimmer.

I had been swimming from the beginning of my primary school and I was in Middle school then. I was a pretty strong and confident swimmer.

But water was a dangerous thing. You only needed 2 inches of water to drown.

So I gasped for air and made my way to the edge.

May be that was enough fun in the water for one day.

—–

Day 27 —Make up a near-death experience (unless you have a real one).

If you have read my other post for this challenge, you would probably have known about this story already. I tweaked it a bit, filling out the details that I couldn’t remember and tried to make it a bit more dramatic.

But yeah, I remember this. The almost drowning and that thought that may be this was the end. It was pretty scary. I’m glad though that it hasn’t put me off swimming. It’s just made me more careful about it.

It’s Monday and it’s passed 9pm so I’m going to sign off here. I almost forgot that I had this entry to make as well… ^^”

Hope you all had a good start to the week!

With love,

From GZ

PS – super busy day with full day of work and then had to go out for work in the late afternoon too. Very much looking forward to sleep now. zzz

Leave a Reply

