[30 Day Writing Challenge] Day 25

As always, here is the list of all of the 30 day challenge I am doing at the moment.

Here is my attempt to today’s prompt.

Disclaimer: All of the characters are fictional. Any details that may be similar to a real person is entirely coincidental.

—–

Someone asked her once, what it was like living next to the famous duo. It confused her at first, who were they referring to? She would know if she lived next to famous people, Louise would never keep her out of the loop.

“You know, Bente and Shavonne.”

Oh, them? They were just lovely girls who rent out a floor from Louise’s building. She didn’t know they were famous.

“They got millions of people watching their videos on Youtube!”

That didn’t really clear up a lot of things, she thought that Youtube was just another website kids these day were crazy about. However, she could indulge the two teens. They seemed quite eager to know about… well, anything she would divulge to them.

“They are quite lovely girls. They bought me a laptop for Christmas a couple of years ago and helped me set it up so I can talk to my boys in the States.” She saw the teens’ eyes lit up as they hung on to her every word.

“Louise always gushes about them, when they are not damaging her floor that is. Apparently they move furniture around quite a bit. They can be a bit loud sometimes, whatever it is they are doing. My tenants complain about the noise in the middle of the night too. One of them, I think it’s Bente, likes playing the piano in the early morning.” She frowns because she definitely had heard some jazz rendition before the sun rose more than once.

“She’s good, mind you, just not at 3 o’clock in the morning.”

“Oh! Oh! And do you think they are seeing each other?” One of the girls piped up to ask, excitedly.

“Seeing each other?”

“Yeah, like dating!” The other one chimed in and they both waited for her answer with unconcealed anticipation.

“I believe that is none of our business, dears. If they haven’t made it public what their relationship is, then it is definitely not our job to go prying.” Her voice became quite stern, the teacher in her came back on. She didn’t know if it was her place to say but someone ought to tell these girls that we shouldn’t be too nosy.

She wasn’t going to tell them that Shavonne was one of the numerous people Bente had brought home with her after a night out. She actually saw it that night. She was just closing her curtain for the night and caught sight of Bente running down the street.

Then she saw another girl running after and they both ended up giggling to themselves as Bente tried to open the front door. They were pressed very close to each other, it did not look platonic.

She didn’t expect to see the same girl again but Shavonne kept coming back. Louise had shared with her that she hoped this one would stay because she was a nice girl who made Bente happy.

That was four years ago. The rest, as they say, was history.

—–

Day 25 —Write a story about ‘What the Neighbors Saw.’

Not sure if this fits the prompt but I had a lot of fun writing it! Especially finding out names for my characters, that was a lot of fun.

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I had writing it! And that you are having a lovely weekend. I’m having a quiet day in, which is great because it’s so cold and a bit grey outside. Definitely the kind of day to be snuggling to my blanket on the couch ;p

 

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this yet but I was silly enough to accidentally drop a mug on my toe last Sunday. The finger isn’t swollen now and I can actually wear socks but I didn’t think it would be wise to be on my feet hence the staying-in-on-a-Saturday decision.

PPS – GZ is still confused with its weather. The temperature dropped to single digit yesterday and hence why I’m in the middle of two heaters. And apparently, it will warm up again tomorrow. GZ, please make up your mind. My body and closet is confused.

 

Leave a Reply

