[30 Day Writing Challenge] Day 24

As always, here is the list of all of the 30 day challenge I am doing at the moment.

Not a creative one, thank goodness, because I’m running out of time and I would like to post this before midnight!

Day 24 —Write about the longest amount of time you’ve ever gone without sleeping.

—–

This is a bit funny because I was talking about this story just an hour or so ago! I think, the longest amount of time 

Nope, wait, I don’t think that is right. The time I was thinking about, I think I skipped a night of sleeping (was staying out, hanging out and having fun with my uni friends), I got naps in the next morning so that can’t be the longest.

The longest I ever went without sleeping was actually before that. I didn’t sleep the whole night, then was awake for the whole of the next day too before crashing at about 8pm…

It was the night before my university interview. I was jet-lagged but still managed to be pretty coherent the day before my interview. I was given a room to stay for free for one night at the College and I met up with 2 friends from school. One was there for an interview as well while the other was already in the first year there.

The one that was already a student there was being our guide and took us around the city. He actually stayed behind so he could meet us and took us around, it was really kind of him to do that.

Anyway, he took me to see some of his Thai uni friends too. I think it’s safe to say that all of them became my friends during my time at uni there later xD I was offered some food to eat but I was tired (jet-lagged) so I declined and then I got dropped back at my room.

But I was so nervous that I couldn’t sleep. At all I think. I had so much nervous energy and nothing that I did could calm me down. My favourite CD didn’t help and what was worse was that I ended up feeling hungry after around midnight. I, of course, had no food and I gotten so desperate (remember, nervous energy) that I decided that it was the right thing to do to go back to my friend’s friend’s room and ask if they got some left overs for me.

I must have made some fabulous impression then. XP

Anyway, the people were just taking off to leave but the owner of the room was kind enough to find some food for me (some sausages) that I gobbled down. And then I must have went back to my room and still, no sleep.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t sleep a wink that night, didn’t feel so good but still went to breakfast in the Great Hall. I don’t actually remember that breakfast…

I then went to wait in one of the common rooms for my time.

And then I had a test at 10am. That, I remember. I also remember that the guy who was suppose to be supervising us ended up falling asleep. It didn’t matter though because we were all furiously working through our paper that no one was bothered to cheat.

The test was one hour long and then I walked to my interviewers’ room and wait. I could hear an interview being conducted inside and I had to wait for quite a while. And then the girl came out and wished me good luck. I was told to wait for a few more minutes before the interviewers came to get me.

It took a couple of questions for me to loosen up and relax in the interview, but I remember forgetting that it was an interview half way through. I definitely felt really great when I came out. Not because I was sure that I’ve done well (I felt like I couldn’t answer many of the questions) but because I was so relieved that it was over and that I’d learned something new that day.

The sky was blue and the weather was perfect when I came out. I met up with my dad at our meeting place and we went to the train station together to take a train back to my aunt’s place.

I’m pretty sure I was running on adrenaline for the rest of the day and then crashed that night, lol.

So even though I feel like this is probably a pretty tame experience, I think this is the time I have stayed up the longest.

And all in all, a very good experience for me.

—–

It’s a good thing this prompt was an easy one to churn out too so I’m going to hit post now and if there’s anything else I want to add, I’ll come back and edit it xD

 

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – TGIF!

Leave a Reply

