[30 Day Writing Challenge] Day 7

Here is the full list of the 30 Day Challenge.

Another not-creative writing one so here is today’s prompt:

Day 7 —What sets you apart from the crowd?

—–

Now this is a tough one.

Well, actually, I suppose I can write about one of my biggest passion: being a geek.

I love Harry Potter, science, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Sci-fi genre, Westworld, James Bond, Kingsman, Starwars, MCU, etc. This list will be very long if I actually write them all out.

But I think you have spotted some similarities between all of them. They are probably things that have been associated with ‘geekiness’. I can assure you though that I have been like this even before geeks are cool.

Let’s take Harry Potter for example.

I have started reading Harry Potter in 6th grade. Well, I actually read the first chapter of the first book in 5th grade and found it utterly boring. My dad sat me down one Saturday afternoon to read it, in English nonetheless! Needless to say, I was completely turned off by that one chapter and didn’t give it a second thought after.

Fast forward to a year later, Harry Potter became quite a hit among my classmates and one person brought her Thai copies to lend to people. I actually read the 2nd book first before going back to the Philosophy Stone (because someone else was reading the 1st book and I was impatient).

I bonded with my best friend when my right arm was in a cast and she had to write notes for me as I was reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban under the table.

So I read all 3 books in Thai then went back to read the English copies at home. I still have the 2nd and the 3rd book in Thai which were given to me as a birthday gift (as per requested).

The 4th book was the first English book I read. It is also the one I usually say was the book that got me into reading.

The 7th book came out the summer after I have finished my high school.

The final film came out the year I’ve started working.

Harry Potter has been with me throughout my milestones. It occupies a very special place in my heart.

So now that I am working and making my own money, I have been spending a lot of money on the Harry Potter franchise.

I am subscribed to the J.K. ROWLING’S WIZARDING WORLD by Lootcrate. And because it doesn’t ship to Thailand or China yet, the boxes are being shipped to the Netherlands first, where my cousin is studying and she will bring them back to me in July.

I own a time-turner necklace.

day-7

I was just wearing this today!

I also own a golden snitch necklace. Both necklaces were from another Harry Potter subscription box that lune and I were subscribed to from June till December last year. The company is called GeekGear‘s World of Wizardy and I really can’t afford to be on 2 subscriptions so gave this one up for the official goods…

Lune has also gotten me a golden snitch bracelet. I wear a Gryffindor lanyard everyday at work. I have a mug warmer in Harry Potter design. (Again, both of these were from GeekGear too.)

I surround myself with products from this franchise.

Because these things bring me joy. Because they are Harry Potter related.

I also know Harry Potter and their universe in a lot of details. I went to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them twice and still feel like I can go see it in the cinema again and again.

So I think what sets me apart from the crowd is my love for Harry Potter the ability to throw myself into a fandom and completely submerge myself and my time and my money in it.

—–

I thought it was going to be a tough one again for today’s prompt until I realise that I can gush about Harry Potter and then it was difficult no more. 😉

Hope you have had a great Tuesday!

With love,

From GZ

 

5 comments

  1. Pingback: [February Writing Challenge] Day 10 | A professional procrastinator
  2. Pingback: [February Writing Challenge] Day 11 | A professional procrastinator
  3. Pingback: [30 Day Writing Challenge] Day 20 | A professional procrastinator
  4. lunerissa · March 2

    Still want Draco mag warmer T^T
    the story of your broken arm and harry book 3 will get repeat over and over LOL
    I do creative writing in school about it too and hand in with title ” Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban ” my classmate was like WHAT!?!?!? got B for this work hahaha

    Like

  5. Pingback: [30 Day Writing Challenge] Master post | A professional procrastinator

Leave a Reply

