My fantastic birthday weekend

I wasn’t planning on writing a post about my birthday yet but I thought I really should make one first (it should be the first entry after my birthday) before going to my Japan trip. So here it is!

My birthday is on Sunday this year so the celebration started on Friday xD

One of my colleagues was the first to bring it up and also gave me my first gift this year.

from-d

Raisins from his home town. 

He also got kids to sing happy birthday to me too… I felt slightly awkward/embarrassed because it wasn’t my birthday yet but was also grateful too.

 

This next gift came from a couple friends of mine.

from-j-and-s

I love gherkins so this is just perfect! 😀

 

And then I kicked off my weekend of eating with a cup of hot chocolate and some macaroons!

518962807526809592

These were from a French cafe near our friends’ place. The macaroons were pretty good, especially the passion fruit with chocolate filling one. The hot chocolate wasn’t chocolate-y enough for me I’m afraid…

Macaroon grade: 5

Hot chocolate grade: 3 (because it was pricey… and it also filled me up so I couldn’t eat as much dinner as I’d wanted!)

 

We then took an Uber to Zhujiang New Tow for some Indian food at Little India!

indian-food

I actually can’t remember the name of some of these dishes but the bottom left was butter chicken and the middle picture on the top row was the lamb biryani. 

Oh the food was sooooo good!!! *0* Just looking at these pictures made me hungry all over again! The butter chicken was AMAZING and the lamb biryani, superb.

I had butter chicken because of my wife actually, she said to have it for her. Best decision ever.

IB Grade: 7

 

After dinner, we walked down to Social&Co for drinks and desserts.

social-and-co

A glass of ‘Cool Passion’ mocktail for me and a plate of chocolate brownies! Yum…. I was so full though that I couldn’t finish the brownies!! ><

Cool Passion grade: 5 (a tad bit too sweet…)

Brownies: 5 (partly because I can make them myself too… ^^”)

 

We also didn’t stay out too late either because everyone was tired so I managed to catch the metro back. Back in my apartment by 11ish and showered then bed around midnight! It was really my kind of night 😉

 

Saturday was a chill but productive day for me! Because I didn’t go to bed too late, I was up by around 8am. Had a lie in till about 9am then got up to do the laundry. I decided to do my diet on Saturday (because I don’t want to have to restrict anything on my birthday) so only had one cup of tea.

And then I started working. ^^” Had to take work home this weekend because I hadn’t been that productive last week. However, for some odd reason, I was productive and managed to get the work done! Or, well, I was motivated enough by the fact that I didn’t want to have to work on my birthday. And this work needed to be done before Monday.

I also had a voice call with my wife/bff and tried to plan our trip to Shanghai further. (It was a good thing we haven’t booked anything yet though because we scrap the plan yesterday after I realised that some high school students will be on holiday already. That was why the plane ticket from GZ to Shanghai is more expensive than my trip home. We don’t want to risk venturing into Shanghai Disneyland when the students are on holiday…)

Anyway, finished work around 1pm so I put Sausage Party on. ^^” Man, that film is really not for kids…

Washed my hair after finished the film then headed out to a colleague place for dinner at around 5pm.

homecooked

We had the tomato soup first (bottom left) with some rolls. It was really good. And then a some sort of warm salad with basmati rice, avocado, cherry tomatoes, carrots, corns, onions and chicken. So good. And so filling too!! Just perfect for the only savory food I had that day (had 2 bananas during the day and lots of water).

Then finished off the night with a drink with a friend at a bar near my apartment. Back for a shower by about 11ish again and in bed around midnight!!!

(You can’t believe I’m not 30 yet right? xDDD)

 

And then, Sunday. The actual birthday. By this point, it didn’t really feel that different because I had been celebrating for over a day now xD But I sadly didn’t sleep too well the night before so still felt groggy when I got up at 9am.

Made myself another cup of tea and got half ready. Then sat down in front of my laptop and was late. Story of my life… ^^”

I got dressed up slightly to look and feel good on my weekend. Then went out to meet a friend at the metro station.

There, I was given 2 thoughtful gifts.

s

From S. 

I actually just saw the red stole in the back first and only realise there was a small bottle of perfume too when I got home. The stole is perfect and I love the maroon colour and the perfume has a classic scent that I really like. Can’t wait to put it on.

We then met another friend when we switch the train and so the journey passed by relatively smoothly and quickly to Taikoohui.

I decided for Element Fresh for our brunch/early lunch and I was not disappointed!

brunch

Top left: quesadilla. Bottom left: Korean BBQ chicken cob salad. Top right: Banana-Apple smoothie. Bottom right: Rose and mango tea. 

The quesadilla caught my eyes so I ordered that for a starter then went for the Korean BBQ chicken cob salad for my main.

The quesadilla was so good, cheesy and just right.

Grade: 6

 

The Korean BBQ chicken cob salad (bottom left) was as goo as when I had it the first time around a few months ago. Such a great variation of the classic cob.

Grade: 6

 

And I could never resist the banana-apple smoothie every time I visit Element Fresh for brunch. It’s basically breakfast in a cup, with yoghurt and muesli literally whiz together in a blender. So. Good.

Grade: 6

 

Another friend and her family joined us after as well (thank goodness or else I wouldn’t be able to finish the quesadilla by myself). So we chatted and ate and just relaxed.

Oh! A friend ordered a rose and mango tea too and it was pretty good from a few sips I’ve taken.

 

For dessert, we went down to the M floor (I think) to awfully chocolate. I remember going there in early December and was impressed with their chocolate. And of course, me being a chocoholic, must have some chocolate goodness for my birthday.

awfully-chocolate

Left: chocolate cupcake. Right: chocolate tart.

The cupcake was very good with the ganache on top and almost like a fudge/pudding texture at the bottom.

Grade: 6

 

The tart was very good as well though a tad bit too sweet for me this time around. I think I may need some sort of tea to counter it. The last time, I had lychee ice tea with desserts so may be that was why…

Grade: 5

 

My friends insisted on paying for dessert as a birthday gift to me too o^^o

 

I then came back to my apartment and decided to do some baking! xD There are quite a few people with birthdays in December and January so I decided to bake the cake for this celebration. Because as a small curse of being a baker is that a lot of the thing you eat, you find yourself thinking that you can make one better… ^^”

Before I show you picture of the cake I baked, just wanted to tell you how my Monday morning went.

My Y13s surprised me with a cake and a small notebook with hand-drawn pictures on the front of all of us and birthday wishes at the back.

428908019464708703

They know I don’t like Justin Bieber and yet still tries to push him to me. Yeah, we have that kind of relationship. 

They were going to pretend to all be late but then 2 forgot so turned up early. One of them (she’s like the mother of the group) came in with quite a murderous expression on her face. I knew right then that something was up. Still, I was surprised when the last one came in with the cake though!

898423087038263168

And apparently, this one rose came with the cake too. So me, being a science geek, use a measuring cylinder as my vase. ;D

 

from-yy

From YY

Here’s another gift from a friend that I will gladly take back home. Can’t wait to put it out for show .

 

And here is the two cake I made and took to work with me!

cake

Not bad for a first time of ‘piping’. I actually put the chocolate ganache in a plastic bag to take to work and just cut a corner off and piped it out! 

The cake was gone pretty quickly xD

 

So yes, that’s it really for my weekend birthday. Got so many wishes from the people around me and thoughtful gifts. It has been a another wonderful 89 28 birthday. 😉 I am thankful to be surrounded by so many lovely people. ❤

 

Oh wow, this entry is taking way longer than I thought it would! xD I should have known, it always takes longer than I thought to write and post a blog entry. I’m glad I get to document this birthday down with pictures though!!

So yes, I would like to sign off here, hope you are all having a good week!

 

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – I’m actually getting tired now so will blow dry my hair and try to go to bed early today…

 

Leave a Reply

