Of a ‘new’ year. Part 1

I actually can’t quite believe that it has been nearly 4 months since I’ve last updated this blog… ._. How fitting was it that my last entry was about the mind of a procrastinator and then I lived up to its name. ^^”

I’ve been wanting to come and blog for nearly a whole 24 hours (again, living up to my blog’s name), only gotten around to it when my laptop’s battery is down to 39% and it’s nearly my bedtime.

Ah, my self-imposed deadline works somewhat then.

So I thought I should do a brief update of what has happened in the last 4 months. In numbered list because that seems to be easiest for me.

1. I managed to survive my first year of working in GZ. It was grueling towards the end, wasn’t sure I was going to make it a few times just because instead of work lightening up, it got worse the closer it was to the holiday. I really didn’t quite get that. I got quite stressed at the end of the year…

2. Ah, but before that, we went to HK in the end of April/beginning of May! That was a lot of fun! Went to HK Disneyland and ate loads of fantastic food and met lovely, lovely people. It was definitely one of my highlights last year. Will have to do a post to put up food photos xD

3. When the holiday finally arrived, I was so ready to head back home. Spent just over a week in BKK where we went to the beach! It wasn’t our usual beach destination and we were trying out this new hotel for the first time, but I must say I was hooked! Great accommodation at a reasonable price and we got to spend time at this ‘Sunset Lounge’ which gives you free snacks and drinks in the evening. I also hit their gym and worked out instead of swimming too so that was great for my weight. I really did try to lose a few kilos before I went to Japan with my best friend/wife, lune.

Which brings us to the next number, but because I want to go all out rambling about it, I’ll subdivide them xD

4. Definitely one of the highlights of my summer holiday this year was to go to Japan with my BFF. We’d been planning for this trip since possibly this time last year, I know we booked our plane tickets in September 2015 so to say it was our long awaited trip was an understatement xD

4.a. We flew with Thai Airways to Kansai International Airport. Landed in the morning, went to the hotel in Osaka to drop our bags then headed out to Kyoto. Managed to rent out a yukata and finally made it to Fushimi Inari Shrine! *-* Also made it to the top of the hill for Kiyomizu Dera too xD I couldn’t quite believe how much we walked (and how energised I was considering I had less than 4 hours of sleep). Mind you, it was only the first day…

4.b. USJ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Oh, my goodness. It was like a dream-come-true, being able to go to USJ and The Wizarding World of Harry Potter with lune. We totally geeked out over Harry Potter together ever since, well, the start of our friendship. I still remember that when I had my right arm in a cast, it was lune who took notes in classes for me while I was reading the third Harry Potter book under the desk. It was totally a sign that we were destined to be BFF 😉 And we kinda got back into fandom again quite recently so being able to share this experience with her was unreal…

4.c. We took the Shinkasen to Tokyo. (The only reason why we went to Osaka first was for the USJ so once that was done, we were all like, ‘Yeap, let’s spend the rest of our time in Tokyo.’ xDDD) We stayed in a flat from AirBnB in Takadanobaba area. I stayed at a hotel around there in December so I am pretty familiar with the area. And of course, the first place we went to was Harajuku xDDD

4.d. Bought a 48 hours subway card the next day and then hit the Tsukiji Fish Market the next day! And then of course, Tokyo Skytree and a brief visit to the Sensoji Shrine in Asakusa and the Meiji Shrine at Harajuku in the rain.

4.e. It was an easy day the next day, went to Ginza area to check out the Henri Charpentier tea salon and then dinner at a fantastic tonkatsu (pork cutlet) restaurant in Shinjuku.

4.f. The next day found us at Tokyo Station in the late morning. We had brunch at one of the restaurants on the Ramen Street. Then we went to a cat cafe in Harajuku and finished the day at an okonomiyaki (Japanese pizza) restaurant in Shinjuku.

4.g. Another highlight on this trip is visiting Tokyo Disney Resort with lune. We went to Tokyo DisneySEA first because the weather was better that day and I wanted lune to enjoy the night show at DisneySEA. We had a fabulous time, managed to went on all of the rides we wanted. We ate some delicious food too and took loads and loads of pictures.

4.h. Of course we then went to Tokyo DisneyLAND the next day and sadly, the weather was much wetter. It was a good thing that I brought my cardigan with me because it was quite cold. Rain meant less people so we were able to go on a lot more rides here, some we even went on twice just because we had the time xD We even managed to get on a ride which is very similar to my childhood roller coaster!

4.i. The next day was spent catching up on sleep (xD). We did manage to get to Ikebukuro where we had a curry buffet for brunch, I had an apple pie earlier and lune had her choux cream. We both spent a small fortune at the gashapon machines area at Ikebukuro station because we found one that had our childhood cartoon merchandise! We then finished the day in Shinjuku where I found my latest favourite chocolate place in Tokyo *-*

4.j. I won’t lie, it was a bit gloomy on our last day because I couldn’t quite believe that the trip was nearly over. I had such a fantastic time in Japan with my best friend and we ate loads and spent a fortune shopping and laughed and smiled and created so many wonderful memories. It was, hands down, one of the best trips I have ever had. Ever. ❤

 

*Look at the time* *Look at the laptop’s battery*

I think, I have to stop here today. Darn. I knew it was going to be long, even if it was in a numbered list, since I have so many things I want to write about. Didn’t quite realise that I would actually be able to do only half of what I intended to… Ah, I shall have to come back tomorrow then. And I will try my best to come back and update part 2 tomorrow!!

For now, my sleep beckons xD I hope you all had a fantastic weekend!

 

With love,

From GZ

Leave a Reply

