Lune

I had just started 6th grade at my primary school. It was an all-girl school where I had 52 other classmates. This was a slight improvement from my earlier years where the class size was about 60 students.

This was actually one of the most well-known and reputable schools in Bangkok. I wasn’t aware that the class size was huge. Not until I went to America, but that’s another story.

I was sitting in the middle between new friends, because even though that was my 6th year at the school, I still couldn’t possibly know everybody yet. There were 10 classes in total that year, so that was more than 500 students in my year.

Anyway, I was chatting away about an anime I was watching called Cardcaptor Sakura. The cartoon channel on the cable TV had brought the second season of this anime back. I absolutely loved the first season so I was over the moon for the second season.

However, I was away during the summer holiday so I’d missed quite a few episodes. There was no internet at home back then for me to go online and catch up so I was a bit lost. I was just asking around with my new friends, hoping that one of them had watched Cardcaptor Sakura too so they could fill me in.

Someone must have heard my prayer because a voice from behind called out to say that she had watched the anime too.

I turned around and a new friendship was born. I don’t think either of us knew on that day that (nearly) 16 years down the line, I would still have the privileged of calling her my best friend.

We weren’t the best of friends from day 1. We were in the same group of friends but we were both closer to other people during that year.

I remember how she always had all of the stationeries we need. At some point during the school year, the desks were arranged in groups and her pencil case would be put in the middle so that everybody could have access to it.

My notebooks, on the other hand, were the source and ‘inspirations’ to other people’s homework. It was not unusual for friends to come by and ask to borrow my exercise books in the morning.

I remember the day Lune came to school with her hair cut short. I was quite shock, because I know how much she loved, still does, her long hair.

I also remember that we had cleaning duty together once, and she wrote her nickname in English on the board and I couldn’t pronounce it properly.

But we weren’t each other’s best friend yet.

It was only after we finished 6th grade that we somehow started talking on the phone. I don’t remember how it happened, but I’m so thankful it did. We would talk on the phone everyday until I had to fly to the States.

She was the only person I always wanted to call from the US while I was studying there. I can still (just about) remember her old landline number because I pretty much had it memorised.

I think we’ve written each other’s letters during that year too. That was the only way to keep in touch with her because, again, no internet at home yet. I think I wrote other people letters too but I put them all in the same envelop and asked Lune to give them out at school.

And when I went back to Thailand, she was the only friend I called to let her know that I was back. I went to visit my old school and I remember friends running to come by and say hi, but she was the only one whom I went straight back to talking on the phone with everyday.

I spent a lot of time at my maternal grandmother’s house at that point and I remember using the old phone where you have to turning a wheel rather than buttons for numbers.

(I just googled what we call that, it’s a rotary dial phone.)

And then she went abroad for 8th Grade while I stayed on in Thailand.

Lune came back to university in Thailand, but then I went off to England for my Bachelor degree.

This is pretty much the story of our lives. I don’t think we’ve ever lived in the same country for longer than a year-ish.

And yet.

She is my oldest friend really.

I’ve known her longer than my own little sister.

She’s the one I want to talk to whenever something good has happened.

She’s the one I want to call when something bad has happened.

She’s the one I want to rant to when life throws me a curve ball.

 

She has always been there in my life.

I don’t want to imagine my life without her.

I tell people that if I wasn’t into guys, I would be going down on one knee with a ring to propose to her.

She would be my soulmate if soulmates can be platonic.

 

So on this day, where she turns 27, I just want to dedicate this blog entry to one of the best of friends a girl can have.

Honey, I wish you the happiest birthday. I’m so sorry I couldn’t be there to celebrate with you in person, but I’ll make up for it the next time we meet.

Thank you for almost-16 years of awesomeness. Thank you for always being there and putting up with me. I hope I am being that for you, the way you are to me.

I’m so grateful for mobile internet and chat apps that allow us to keep in touch pretty much 24/7. Though I do kind miss writing letters to you xD

I hope that this 28th year of your life brings you lots of joy. I look forward to creating more fantastic memories with you.

ฮันนี่~ โอทันโจวบิ โอเมเดโตวเน้ มีความสุขมากๆนะ เขียนภาษาอังกฤษไปเยอะแล้ว แอบเขินนะเนี่ย ฮ่าๆ พวกเราไม่ค่อยได้ทำอะไรซึ้งๆให้กันเลยเดี๋ยวนี้ แต่ไหนๆก็อัพบล็อกแฮปแล้ว ขอซักหน่อยเถอะ เอิ๊ก

ขอบคุณสำหรับทุกอย่างเลยนะ ขอให้พวกเราเป็นเพื่อนกันแบบนี้ไปตลอด

รักนะจ๊ะ (ฮิ้ววววว เขินเว้ยเฮ้ย)

 

With love,

From GZ

 

3 comments

  1. lunerissa · March 12, 2016

    Wow dont have to make me cry you know lol
    Miss writing letter to you too. I think I wrote more than 100 letters this 16 years
    Well to be honest I dont remember half of ur rant lol
    Still wanting for the ring :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • aprofessionalprocrastinator · March 12, 2016

      Ohhh I nearly made you cry? Target for next year then. Write a sappy enough entry to make Lune cry 😉
      I would suggest we start writing letters again… but I don’t trust the postal service here ^^”
      You can write your own version of what you remember next time!
      Can I give you a pair of earrings first may be?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Otanjoubi omedetou ne lune~ | A professional procrastinator

Leave a Reply

