Acharasobhit – อัจฉราโสภิต

Good evening from Bangkok!

It’s the first day of the Chinese New Year holiday, as well as being the End of Semester 1 break. It has been one hell of a long semester, and I am so glad to have survived it.

We went out to dinner last night as per usual, though Kathy couldn’t make it sadly. That’s another review entry waiting to be written as we went to Ricci Creative Eats.

Needless to say, I pigged out last night and ended up feeling quite sick afterwards. I didn’t even think that I ate more than usual but it might’ve been a combination of exhaustion as well as eating just a tad bit too much that made me so nauseous afterwards.

I didn’t even have an appetite this morning but forced myself to eat something because 1.) I need to get rid of the left over and 2.) I won’t have my lunch till about 3pm on the plane.

My stomach is rumbling slightly which tells me that I have recovered from the pigging out and can therefore go at it again now that I am back at home. xD

Yes, I flew out of the cold GZ this afternoon to the lovely heat of Bangkok. The flight was delayed to about 3.30pm by the time we could take off. I didn’t even pack until this morning… But then again, I didn’t have much to bring back either. The luggage is for taking things back to GZ 😉

I got up at about 9am this morning (God bless lie ins) and just faffed about until 11 something. I also did about 3 rounds about the flat to make sure that everything is unplugged/turned off before I could leave…. ^^”

The journey to the airport was very smooth, the subway wasn’t crowded and I was quite pleased with my progressed on the first leg of the journey.

Until I saw the queue at the check-in counters that is.

I’ve never seen a queue that long at Baiyun Airport before for my flight and might have panicked a little. I had to stand outside the queueing area, waiting as the queue slowly moved forward. The first 10 minutes was the worst. I thought I’d be spending hours queueing up here. Thankfully, the queue gradually moved faster and faster and I was out of there before 1pm.

I then bumped into a colleague before walking into the security check. Turns out that he was catching another flight around the same time and his gate is right next to mine.

Fortunately, the security check and immigration didn’t take long at all. I was actually a bit surprised at how quickly it was, possibly the fastest it’s ever been for me so far. And I was sitting, reading by the gate by about 1.20pm.

The colleague I bumped into earlier came and we sat and chat to pass the time and another colleague turned up. All of our gates were in that area.

I finally boarded the plane at about 2.20pm and found out that the seat I’d booked for was the middle seat. That, wasn’t nice. When I first saw the seat number on my e-ticket, 32B, I thought that the seats arrangement is probably a 2-4-2.

Because I’ve booked the flight myself and I always choose the aisle seat. So imagine my shock when I walked in to see a seating arrangement of 3-3-3 instead.

Though, it could’ve been worse. My two neighbours were all right so I didn’t feel so uncomfortable being stuck in the middle. Had a bit of a panic when my mobile slipped down the crack of the seat and I couldn’t find it too.

It was one of those moments where one minute the phone was in your hand, and it was gone in another. Weird and disconcerting.

Anyway, Dr No with Sean Connery’s 007 kept me company for most of the flight. I’ve always wanted to go back and watch all of Sean Connery’s James Bond (he is my favourite Bond) so this was quite a treat. I actually started watching it even before we took off ;D

The meal was great too, rice with panang (another type of red curry) pork was delicious.

My flight was a Boeing 777-300 and the planed was named ‘Acharasobhit’, which I think means a beautiful angel.

(‘Achara’ (อัจฉรา) means angel and I’m assuming that ‘sobhit’ is another form of ‘sobha’, which means beautiful.

I thought that the name is great to the ears even before I knew the meaning and thought that it would make a perfect title for a blog entry.)

This is also the first time I’ve paid attention to the name of the Thai Airways airplanes. I think I was aware before at the back of my mind that they are all named but I’ve never really paid attention to it. The only reason why I know the name of my plane this time is because we didn’t land next to the building and had to take the shuttle bus instead. And that was when I saw the name.

I prefer to walk through the tunnel to get into the building straightaway but this time, standing on the shuttle bus allowed me a glimpse of the sun setting.

600119186464290403

It was quite pretty…

My dad picked me up from the airport and as he drove us back into the city, the sun was a big, bright orange ball, painting the sky with its alluring colours.

540692347323474242

Once I was back at home, there was a ripen mango waiting for me.

401265598599877542

This is a ‘tong-dam’ variety. ‘Tong’ (ทอง) means gold, while ‘dam’ or ‘dum’ (ดำ) means black. So I suppose I can call it ‘black gold mango’… The flesh is more of a orange colour, the texture is quite firm and there is always a distinct smell and aftertaste that is very hard to put into words that I absolutely love ever since I was young.

It is also usually only available for up to at most a month every year so every time I have it is such a treat.

I have the best mum in the world really.

And that is pretty much it for today. I am grateful for a 3 hours flight rather than 12, and a 1 hour time difference rather than 6 or 7.

It’s a good start to the holiday.

Hope you are having a great week so far, it’s Friday tomorrow!

With love,

From BKK

 

2 comments

  1. prinkatwong3rd · February 5, 2016

    I like this layout so much more!
    Who else did you run into besides J?

    Like

Leave a Reply

