[Food Review] First time at Element Fresh

I went out with a friend last night for dinner (something we usually do for Friday and Saturday) so I thought I should do a quick review on the food last night.

Now, my friend has a brilliant idea of grading the food using the IB grading system.

For those of you who are not familiar with IB, it stands for The International Baccalaureate and it is a programme for the last 2 years of high school in many international schools around Asia.

The grades are given as a number where 1 is the lowest and 7 is the highest. My friend has written a description of what these numbers mean like this:

1: Very Poor
2: Poor
3: Mediocre
4: Satisfactory
5: Good
6: Very Good
7: Excellent

And so we will try this out for the food reviews on this blog.

Back to where we went last night, it was my first time at Element Fresh. We’ve been talking about going there for a few months now so I was looking forward to trying it out for the first time.

The one we went to was in Taikoo-Hui, which is probably the most high-end mall in Guangzhou. Element Fresh is on the 4th floor I think, and you have to go outdoor first. There are seats both indoor and outdoor for all restaurants in that area.

It must have been after 6pm when we arrived and even though there was a queue, we only had to wait for no longer than 5 minutes to get a table for 2.

After much consideration, I went for the Laffa Bread Salad which is one of their signature salad dishes and a Cinderella drink.

Cue pictures and scores.

Laffa Bread Salad

732468940085114754

Here’s the description of it from the menu:

“Grilled chicken breast with goat cheese over mixed lettuce, chopped tomatoes and cucumbers dressed with lemon juice and olive oil, topped with onion and sliced green olives. All served on laffa bread with miso-yogurt dressing.”

For those of you who didn’t know what laffa bread is (like me last night), it’s ‘an Iraqi pita that is of medium thickness, slightly chewy, doesn’t tear easily, and is mostly used to wrap shawarma in food stands. It is popular in Israel, where it is common at bakeries and food stands’ (credit Wikipedia under Taboon bread page).

The dish itself was really good, my friend recommended this one to me and it delivered. The ‘miso-yogurt’ dressing was really good, though I didn’t really register any miso taste, it went well with everything on this plate. The whole dish was hearty too with the chicken breast and laffa bread. The bread itself was indeed chewy and didn’t tear easily but it still went well with the rest of the dish.

Score: 6

 

The Cinderella mocktail

794075152271340913

Description from the menu:

“Fresh orange, pineapple and lemon juice, a dash of grenadine and a splash of soda.”

The combination of orange, pineapple and lemon is definitely up my alley and this drink actually exceeded my expectation. It was a citrus version of a fruit punch. I love citrus fruit and fruit punch so definitely a winner.

Score: 7

 

My friend went for the Warm Spinach Salad with Salmon Fillet.

864557694597466009

“Flash sauteed fresh spinach, carrots, edamame, green lentils and yellow bell peppers with seared salmon (90 grams) finished with grilled cucumber flowers and lemon-tarragon dressing.”

Now, the picture on the menu made the dish look creamy but as you can see, it wasn’t… Neither my friend nor I was impressed with the dish.

From a few bites that I had, I’d probably give this dish a 3 or 4 but will wait for my friend to say her score.

Update, my friend’s score: 3 

 

She also had a glass of white wine too which she gives a score of 4.

 

All in all, I had a great time at Element Fresh last night. It was slightly pricey though and we weren’t all impressed with every dish, so…

Overall score: 5 

 

Extra: 

308185627148314536

Dessert! Dark chocolate gelato from Venchi.

Now, this brand of gelato blew me away in Hong Kong. I first had it in May last year and it was, easily, one of the best chocolate ice-creams I’ve ever had in my life. It made such a big impression on me that I’d hop on a train to Hong Kong just to get my hands on it.

So imagine my delight when I saw that Venchi was going to be opened at Taikoo-Hui!

And I’ll be honest, the ones I’ve had so far here didn’t quite gave me the foodgasm that the one in Hong Kong did. I’m not sure whether it’s because the bar is so high now that it just can’t reach it anymore or what… but it’s still a good indulgence from time to time.

It is, however, one expensive scoop of ice-cream so it didn’t make the cut to have a score of 6 this time.

Score: 5 

 

My friend also had an ice-cream cone but she went for the vanilla soft serve from Burger King. There was a promotion, 2 for 5 RMB but there was no one else to share the second one with her… (one cone was 3 RMB).

Score: 5

 

Huh, this turns out to be a not-so-quick review after all… ^^” Ah well, I hope I can keep this up considering we go out for dinner pretty often here in GZ. Let’s see.

Hope everyone is having a relaxing Sunday!

With love,

From GZ

 

PS – Weather here yesterday reminded me of England except the mist/fog/drizzles in disguised wasn’t too bad. I’d have been wet if I was walking in England last night but I remained relatively dry here, thank goodness.

PPS – Tiyu Xilu station is the place to go if you’d like to work on the art of pushing/shoving your way into/out of the train.

2 comments

  1. prinkatwong3rd · January 21, 2016

    Wine was Savignon Blanc and yay you can review Paulaner’s tomorrow!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

